“THE FASTEST WAY TO SUCCEED IS HELPING OTHER SUCCEED”: EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH MICHELLE LABROSSE, FOUNDER OF CHEETAH LEARNING

Interview by Roberto Alborghetti

 

Every month I’m very glad and proud to post Michelle LaBrosse articles. They always rise interest and attention (and a lot of readers!) Michelle LaBrosse is the founder of Cheetah Learning, the author of the Cheetah Success Series, and a prolific blogger whose mission is to bring Project Management to the masses ( Michelle’s articles have appeared in more than 100 publications and websites around the world).

She’s an indefatigable woman who brings us passion, enthusiasm, motivations and a deep knowledge of human behaviours and relationships. I have been moved by the idea to ask ker for an interview… Said and done. This is my interview with Michelle LaBrosse. It’s really a great honour for me. I thank so much Cheetah Learning’s Founder for her kind and generous collaboration.

* * *       

  • – Michelle, your articles that I post at my blogs always receive lot of consents and warm attention. According to you, why your writings raise such a well deserved interest?

That is a great question, and thank you for that compliment! When writing articles, I write them for the everyday professional who is interesting in learning how to reach their goals fast. My background, and that Cheetah Learning, is in Project Management and Accelerated Learning. In the articles I write I want to make it very clear that you don’t have to be a “Project Manager” to do good projects, but that everyone can benefit from learning basic project management skills.  The truth is, the better we are at managing project, the better we can be in every area of our life. I don’t exclude anyone when considering the audience that I am writing to, and I think that is why people pay attention to these articles. 

You have created and founded a great experience – and a great human, professional and educational reality – through Cheetah Learning and Project Management. When and how have you felt the first intuitions and inspiration to plan them ? Have you moved by personal and particular reasons or aims? 

I have always had a passion for learning. When I was an engineer at Boeing, part of my job was to teach people how to win government contracts. I was so bored with the regular form of teaching (which was really just a practice in keeping your eyes open) that I developed a new fun approach of training that actually worked. This love for teaching and learning tranlated into everything I did. I became interested in Project Management because I saw how it was so important for organization to have professional managed projects to ensure that projects were completed on time and within budget. When I combined both passions, Accelerated Learning and Project Management, out popped Cheetah Learning.

Which are your main inspiration fonts when you create a text, a new activity or new educational tools? Daylife? All what is surrounding you? The human behaviours?

I think it is a combination of all those things you mentioned. I think its important to listen to your customers and people who are in the industry to get a beat on what it is that people want to learn about. I also use my own life as a sandbox to test out different ideas I have, and I like to share those results with others to perhaps save theme time or learn from my success stories as well as my mistakes.

According to you, and your experience in accelerated learning, what human beings need more to improve their life?    

I think one of the biggest barriers that people have to achieving their dreams is often their own belief system. If you think that you can’t accomplish something, you will prove yourself right again and again. When you become good at project management, and at consistenly achieving your goals, your belief system with envitiably change to that of one that speaks to success and competency. 

From your point of view, which is the most important problem that today is altering human relationships?   

I think that many people today have a backward view of the path to success. If you are going about your professional career with only yourself in mind, you will fail. The fastest way to succeed is in helping other succeed. So to answer you question, one of the biggest problems today that is altering human relationships is the “every man for himself” mentality. We are all connected and we need to help eachother succeed if we want to succeed.

Michelle, are you working on new activities? Are you planning further steps for the development of your Company and Institute?        

Yes – always! The newest project that we are working on is our Agile Exam Prep Course (called Cheetah’s Exam Prep for the PMI-ACPsm Exam). This has been an exciting time to launch this course as Agile is becoming more and more important in the Project Management Industry, and is a methodology and practice that I really believe in as it focuses on people over processes, collaboration over contracts, and responding to changes over following a plan. I see Agile as a very practical application for PMs, so it is exciting to be apart of this movement.

I operate in art… I wonder if in the future Michelle is going to point out some reflexion, or planning some programs, about art and how to support art expression and education…

I am a big believer that art is highly integrated with Accelerated Learning. If you’ve every seen a memory map, it looks like a piece of art, with supporting ideas branching off main ideas. Now Art and accelerated learning are similar in that it is the act of creation, not consumption. You create art, and you create learning moments.

–  Michelle, I’m sure that you have dreams… Which is the first one you’d like to make true?   

Great question! One of my biggest dreams is to help the entire world realize their potential when it comes to taking control of their life and reaching their goals. The whole world you ask? YES! This is my dream and you didn’t say it had to be practical. If everyone in the world changed their belief system to one that was positive and geared towards success, the world would truly be a better place. And project management is the path to get us there. Thank you Roberto for your time, it was a pleasure!

* * *

ABOUT MICHELLE LABROSSE

Michelle LaBrosse, PMP, is an entrepreneurial powerhouse with a penchant for making success easy, fun, and fast. She is the founder of Cheetah Learning, the author of the Cheetah Success Series, and a prolific blogger whose mission is to bring Project Management to the masses.

Cheetah Learning is a virtual company with 100 employees, contractors, and licensees worldwide. To date, more than 30,000 people have become “Cheetahs” using Cheetah Learning’s innovative Project Management and accelerated learning techniques.  

Recently honored by the Project Management Institute (PMI®), Cheetah Learning was named Professional Development Provider of the Year at the 2008 PMI® Global Congress. A dynamic keynote speaker and industry thought leader, Michelle was previously recognized by PMI as one of the 25 Most Influential Women in Project Management in the world.

Michelle’s articles have appeared in more than 100 publications and websites around the world. Her monthly column, the Know How Network, is carried by over 400 publications, and her monthly newsletter goes out to more than 50,000 people. 

She is a graduate of the Harvard Business School’s Owner President Manager’s (OPM) program and also holds engineering degrees from Syracuse University and the University of Dayton. 

Leave a Reply

