SIGNS OF A CITY / REMEMBERING PARIS THROUGH COLORS BLOTS (FROM TORN AND DECOMPOSED PUBLICITY POSTERS)

© ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI – LACER/ACTIONS

*

Fellow blogger Theadora Brack through her interesting blog People,Places and Bling kindly asked me about pics I shot in Paris a few years ago for my project “Lacer/actions” (Images of torn and decomposed publicity posters and urban tokens). I have just to say that also in Paris the traditional billboards have been replaced by electronic or plastic displays. It was not so easy to find them. But luck helps who dares… and who opens the doors of perception.

So, I had the way to capture some interesting images also in the French Capital. They were located in central areas, but not so visible to absent-minded passers-by. I took also some shots under the bridges, though the light conditions weren’t so good… In some tube stations I caught other images with nice shapes and colors blots: they seem to be a sort of elusive ghosts or mysterious tokens stolen from a beautiful city which wants to keep inside all its colored secrets… Et voilà mes images…

9 responses to “SIGNS OF A CITY / REMEMBERING PARIS THROUGH COLORS BLOTS (FROM TORN AND DECOMPOSED PUBLICITY POSTERS)

    • Thank you Roger!!! Yes, I agree with you… Very Parisian… About Rorschach : some friends of mine already did some tests using my images… And me too I lead some workshops with students about the relationship between colors and emotions…

    • Thank you so much Ken for your kind comment! I’m always astonished how torn publicity posters are able to capture the atmosphere and the spirit of a city… Maybe because they are a sort of mirror of the urban life…

  1. Pingback: French Baryton-Martin Singer – LovinOpera

    • Thank you so much Lyn for your beautiful comment! I’m always surprised by this kind of papers which react in order to weather conditions… My best wishes for your painting activity. You should show some works in your Blog… Have a great day!

  2. Wow. Gosh, Roberto. What a treat. Special. You made our week, see. You are so darn, darn talented. Count me in. I AM a big fan. Scrolling up and down, do you remember where you shot the works? Et voilà mes images. . .Superb !! T. (Thanks also for the super cool shout-out. I appreciate it. I’ll add the link to my site, of course. Parfait.)

    • Thank you so much Theadora for your suggestions! Sometimes I really forget the shots I did during my wanderings… I stored about 50.000 images so far, and only few of them become canvases or lithographic prints. The Parisian shots come from Pont Neuf Tube station, Rue Rèamur, Boulevard Rochechouart and Boulevard St. Marcel. I took them in 2008 and 2009. I kindly rechange the pleasure adding your link to my blogroll. Have a great day! Une bonne journèe! Mes salutations!

Leave a Reply

