FUERTEVENTURA (SPAIN) / SEASCAPE STORIES FROM CRACKS OF AN “ART INSTALLATION” (BUT IT’S A WASTE CONTAINER…)

 a 189 (800x597)

a 256 (800x597)

© ROBERTO ALBORGHETTI – LACER/ACTIONS

*

I’ve already written some posts about Fuerteventura, a beautiful and wild part of the Canary Islands where I found fascinating beaches, dunes, hills, towns and a blue, limpid sea… but for me there was another Fuerteventura: one I happened on through my art research.

I usually capture and document my “Lacer/actions” – images of torn and decomposed posters or cracks – wherever I travel. However, something I found in Morro Jable town (a nice city of “Peninsula de Jandia”, in the South) captivated my attention.

In Plaza don Carlos, near Riu Hotel, there stood a platform of bins to separate waste collection. The outside of a blue container designated for paper showed strange cracks with shapes and signs. Most compelling, though, were the blue-based scenes created from varied layers of paper residual, crevices, rusts, dusts, sand, cuts. I worked a lot with my cameras around the big blue trash container and I imagine passers-by were asking themselves if I had some problems.

I’m pleased to present, in two parts, a small selection of those abstract (and conceptual) images I took around the blue container.  I see the images as unique expression revealing some of the seascape stories of Fuerteventura.

*

13 responses to “FUERTEVENTURA (SPAIN) / SEASCAPE STORIES FROM CRACKS OF AN “ART INSTALLATION” (BUT IT’S A WASTE CONTAINER…)

Leave a Reply

