THE NOTTINGHAM YOU DIDN’T EXPECT… MODERN ART UNDER THE SKY AND ALONG THE STREETS

© Roberto Alborghetti – LaceR/Actions, Nottingham, 2015

*

During my recent stay in East Midlands for The Ghost Bus short films premiere (March 27, 2015, Bartons Plc, Chilwell) I had the opportunity to have a look around in the very heart of Nottingham trying to catch some images of torn and decomposed posters, natural cracks and scratches, urban and industrial tokens (yes, I can’t resist!).

Marysia Zipser, founder of ACT Group (Art-Culture-Tourism) and promoter of the short films premiere together with Simon Barton, kindly led me through squares, streets and places from King Street to Old Market Square, from Castle Road to St.Mary’s Gate… And so, while a really beautiful city flowered before  my eyes, with its history and monuments, I also took lot of images for my “Lacer/actions” project.

Nottingham offered me so many “signs” layered on its walls, doors and gates. As an open air gallery, the city of Robin Hood and the incredible red bricks, revealed itself also through absolutely random cracks and scratches. In every street I walked along I noticed particulars and details linked by a common “language and style”.

Along King Street I captured blue oriented images. Near the ancient “Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem” I took pics of grey cracks. In Broad Street some ripped posters presented details in which I had no difficulties to see pop-art elements. And again, I caught black and white images in Hounds Gate, red and blue ones in Low Pavement. Along Goose Gate, outside an alley way, I saw (and impressed on my camera) images that mixed up ripped papers, glue castings, spontaneous drawings left by some anonymous hands.

Yes, in Nottingham, I found in decomposed matters a lot of styles and art streams: from modernism to cubism, from abstractionism to post-modernism, from vorticism to impressionism… Yes, so lot of “ism”, but I prefer to call all those random and natural images with my favourite term: “Lacer/actionism”… Also Nottingham is really an “open air” art museum that you may visit every day, without paying an entrance ticket. It’s enough to walk along the streets, open your eyes wide and let your perceptions flow.

P.S. I thank Marysia Zipser so much for her kindness… Yes, several times I got lost along the tour while shooting photos, but she had always the patience to wait for me…

12 responses to “THE NOTTINGHAM YOU DIDN’T EXPECT… MODERN ART UNDER THE SKY AND ALONG THE STREETS

Leave a Reply

